1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Taking Refuge

In most Buddhist traditions, the ceremony marking commitment to the Buddhist path is called "Taking Refuge." Refuge is taken in the Three Jewels -- the Buddha, the Dharma (Buddhist teachings) and the Sangha (community of Buddhists).

Taking Refuge: Becoming a Buddhist
To become a Buddhist is to take refuge in the Three Jewels, also called the Three Treasures -- the Buddha, the Dharma, the Sangha. This essay explains what "taking refuge" means to a Buddhist.

Going for Refuge
"Taking refuge" is the difference between Buddhists and non-Buddhists. It is not necessary to take refuge in a formal session with a teacher, but it may help to clarify your choice and to remember your commitment.

Bowing as a Buddhist Practice
Bowing is a practice found in all schools of Buddhism. Why and how do Buddhists bow?

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.