1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

The Five Dhyani Buddhas

Heavenly Guides to Spiritual Transformation


The Five Dhyani Buddhas are transcendent Buddhas visualized in tantric meditation. The five Buddhas are Aksobhya, Amitabha, Amoghasiddhi, Ratnasaṃbhava and Vairocana. Each represents a different aspect of enlightened consciousness to aid in spiritual transformation. Often in Vajrayana art they are arranged in a mandala, with Vairocana in the center.
Images 1-5 of 5
Akshobhya BuddhaThe Five Dhyani Buddhas: Akshobhya BuddhaAmitabha BuddhaThe Five Dhyani Buddhas: Amitabha BuddhaAmoghasiddhi BuddhaThe Five Dhyani Buddhas: Amoghasiddhi BuddhaRatnasambhava BuddhaThe Five Dhyani Buddhas: Ratnasambhava Buddha
Vairocana BuddhaThe Five Dhyani Buddhas: Vairocana Buddha
Glossary of Buddhist Icons and Symbols
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Buddhism
  4. Icons of Buddhism
  5. Glossary of Art and Icons
  6. Five Dhyani Buddhas - Dhyani Buddhas Symbolize Enlightened Consciousness

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.