1. Religion & Spirituality

The Five Dhyani Buddhas: Ratnasambhava Buddha

The Jewel-Born One


The Five Dhyani Buddhas are icons of Mahayana Buddhism. Each represents a different aspect of enlightened consciousness to aid in spiritual transformation.
Ratnasambhava Buddha

Ratnasambhava Buddha

MarenYumi / Flickr.com, Creative Commons License

Ratnasambhava Buddha represents richness. His yellow color symbolizes earth and fertility, and he holds a wish-fulfilling jewel. He reigns in the South and is associated with the second skandha, sensation. Meditation on Ratnasambhava Buddha vanquishes pride. He holds his hands in the wish-fulfilling mudra.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.