1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email




According to Mahayana Buddhism, a Buddha is one with the Absolute but manifests in the relative world of form and appearances in order to work for the liberation of all beings. This is enabled by the three bodies: the dharmakaya, the sambhogakaya, and the nirmanakaya. These three bodies are the Trikaya

The dharmakaya is sometimes called the Truth Body or the Dharma Body and is identified with shunyata. Dharmakaya is everything, unmanifested, free of characteristics and distinctions.

Sambhogakaya is the Reward Body. It is the bliss of enlightenment and the reward of spiritual practice.

Nirmanakaya is the Transformation Body, or the body that appears in the world to teach and liberate others.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Buddhism
  4. Glossary of Buddhist Terms
  5. Buddhism Glossary T
  6. Trikaya -- Trikaya is the three bodies doctrine of Mahayana Buddhism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.