1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.




The Sanskrit word paramita usually is translated "perfection." The paramitas are virtues or "perfections" that a Buddhist cultivates.

In Theravada Buddhism, the Ten Paramitas (in English and Pali) are

  1. Giving; generosity (dana)
  2. Morality (sila)
  3. Renunciation (nekkhamma)
  4. Discernment; wisdom (pañña)
  5. Energy (viriya)
  6. Patience (khanti)
  7. Truthfulness (sacca)
  8. Determination (adhitthana)
  9. Loving kindness (metta)
  10. Equanimity (upekkha)

In Mahayana Buddhism, the Ten Paramitas (in English and Sanskrit) are:

  1. Giving; generosity (dana)
  2. Morality (shila)
  3. Patience (kshanti)
  4. Energy; vitality (virya)
  5. Concentration; meditation (dhyana)
  6. Wisdom (prajna)
  7. Skillful means (upaya)
  8. Aspiration (pranidhana)
  9. Spiritual strength (bala)
  10. Knowledge (jnana)

In Mahayana Buddhism, originally there were Six Perfections, and paramitas seven through ten were added later. In old texts that refer to the Six Perfections, these are giving, morality, patience, energy, concentration, and wisdom.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Buddhism
  4. Glossary of Buddhist Terms
  5. Buddhism Glossary P
  6. Paramita - The paramitas are virtues of Buddhism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.