1. Religion & Spirituality

The Five Dhyani Buddhas: Amoghasiddhi Buddha

The Buddha Who Unerringly Achieves His Goal


The Five Dhyani Buddhas are icons of Mahayana Buddhism. Each represents a different aspect of enlightened consciousness to aid in spiritual transformation.
Amoghasiddhi Buddha

Amoghasiddhi Buddha

MarenYumi / Flickr.com, Creative Commons License

In the Bardo Thodol -- the "Tibetan Book of the Dead" -- Amoghasiddhi Buddha appears to represent the accomplishment of all action. He holds a crossed vajra, also called a double dorje, representing accomplishment and fulfillment in all directions. He radiates a green light, which is the light of accomplishing wisdom.

Amoghasiddhi Buddha reigns in the north, and he is associated with the fourth skandha, volition or mental formations. Meditation on Amoghasiddhi Buddha vanquishes envy and jealousy. In this image his hand gesture is the mudra of fearlessness.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Buddhism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.